Artistic pupils say stay safe on the road

TALENTED young artists from schools across East Renfrewshire have been awarded certificates for their contribution to the 2014 road safety calendar.

Over 1,000 youngsters from the area’s primary schools submitted road safety posters for inclusion in the council’s annual calendar.

Provost Alastair Carmichael met the 12 winners recently, and presented them with a certificate and Silverburn vouchers for their efforts.

The Rowan Quaich — for the best school overall — went to Kirkhill primary, with principal teacher Lisa David collecting the award.

In group one (P1), the winners were Imogen Thomson from Braidbar primary, Jessica Lok from Busby primary and Aidan Roberts, from St Thomas primary.

Group two (P2-3) winners were Calum Veitch from Kirkhill, Jennifer Addie from Busby and Maryam Wassay, also from Kirkhill.

In group three (P4-5), Lawizah Shahbaz from Thornliebank took first place, followed by Sunny Boe-Anderson from Braidbar and Emma Gillespie from Kirkhill primary.

And in group four (P6-7), Kirkhill’s Lucy Miller came out on top, followed by Nathan McCulloch (Netherlee) and Susan Howie (also Kirkhill).

Congratulations to East Ren’s budding young artistes.