Election success for parliament pupils

East Renfrewshire teens Amy Perry, Euan Waddell and Matthew McVeigh have been elected to the Scottish Youth Parliament.

Amy (S5 at Williamwood High) and Euan (S5 at Woodfarm High) will represent the Eastwood district while Matthew (fourth year at St Luke’s) representes Renfrewshire South.

The youngsters were three of 350 candidate aged 14 to 25 who uploaded manifestos to the SYP website and campaign to their areas.

They were then selected from 11 candidates, with support from East Renfrewshire’s Young Person’s Services.

Councillor Mary Montague, convener for community services and safety, congratulated all who took part and added: “I 
wish our three SYP MPs the best of luck in their two year term.”