Kirsten Oswald takes East Renfrewshire seat

Jim Murphy has lost his seat in East Renfrewshire to the SNP.

Clarkston resident Kirsten Oswald pipped the long-standing MP and Scottish Labour leader to the post.

The SNP candidate received 23,013 votes, followed by Jim Murphy, David Montgomery (Scottish Conservatives), Graeme Cowie (Lib Dem) and Robert Malyn (UKIP).

Kirsten spoke to The Extra ahead of the announcement — watch our video above for more.