Last chance for a say on council ward boundaries

A consultation on changes to both East Renfrewshire Council and Glasgow City Council ward boundaries closes at the end of the month.

Residents have until October 22 to have their say on the proposed changes — part of a Scotland-wide review of boundaries led by the Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland (LGBCS).

If approved, changes in East Ren will include reducing the number of wards from six to five, as well as reducing councillor numbers by two, from 20 to 18.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Proposals include linking Uplawmoor with Barrhead and Eaglesham with Newton Mearns, adopting the M77 and railway lines as easily identifiable boundaries and encompassing the planned Hillfield development in a ward with Newton Mearns.

Plans also include taking into account community council boundaries — although following a recent vote, CCs failed to return enough nominations to be re-established in Newton Mearns, Giffnock, Netherlee, Eaglesham and Clarkston.

A consultation was held last year on the number of councillors in each council area. An ERC spokeswoman added: “An electoral review of each local authority in Scotland must be carried out at intervals of eight to 12 years.

“The LGBCS will submit its recommendations for each council area in Scotland to Scottish ministers by next May, and they will be implemented in time for the next council elections in May 2017.”

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The consultation is available to view at, as well as at council offices in Eastwood Park and Barrhead Main Street — residents are invited to have their say before Oct 22.

The same date applies to those who live in Glasgow, with proposed changes there including increasing councillor numbers by one in Pollokshields and Langside, as well as “taking into account ‘neighbourhood’ local area geographies used by Glasgow City Council.