First Past the Post Line up now confirmed for elections in Cumbernauld and Kilsyth

The names of the candidates who will fight the first-past-the-post contest in the Cumbernauld and Kilsyth constituency in the Holyrood elections have been finalised.

Candidates were told that they had to last Wednesday (March 31) to announce they were standing and we can now confirm that there are four candidates in total for the contest on Thursday, May 6.

They are in alphabetical order – Elaine Ford, Scottish Liberal Democrats, Mark Griffin – Scottish Labour, Jamie Hepburn – Scottish Nationalist Party and Haroun Malik – Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party.

It has emerged too that Cumbernauld councillor Danish Ashraf is the number one candidate on the SNP’s regional list for Central Scotland.