SNP comes out on top in European Elections in East Renfrewshire

The Scottish National Party picked up the largest share of the votes in East Renfrewshire in the European elections.

A total of 33,932 votes were cast in East Renfrewshire, representing a turnout of 48.4 per cent.

Once the polls closed on Thursday, the votes were counted at Carmichael Hall in Giffnock, on Sunday (May 26), as this is when polling closed across the whole of the European Union.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

In East Renfrewshire, votes were cast for all parties and independent candidates on the ballot paper, with 126 rejected votes.

The votes cast in East Renfrewshire were:

• Change UK - The Independent Group – 995

• Conservative and Unionist Party – 5898

Labour Party – 2834

Liberal Democrats – 5487

• Scottish National Party (SNP) – 11,366

• The Brexit Party – 4016

• UK Independence Party (UKIP) – 416

• Gordon Edgar (Independent) – 176

• Ken Parke (Independent) – 58

In total, the UK elects 73 Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) to represent nine English regions, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. In Scotland, six MEPs are elected.

The six Scottish seats have been allocated to Alyn Smith (SNP), Christian Allard (SNP), Aileen McLeod (SNP), Louis Stedman-Bryce (The Brexit Party), Sheila Ritchie (Liberal Democrats) and Baroness Nosheena Mobarik (Conservative and Unionist Party).

Full details of the election results can be viewed at European Elections – East Renfrewshire