The search is on for Scotland's apprentice of the year

Employers are being urged to nominate their best apprentices for a national award.

More than 25,500 people start Modern Apprenticeships each year but only one will win the title of Apprentice of the Year at the Scottish Apprenticeship Awards.

The awards, now in their 15th year, recognise achievements of individuals and employers involved in apprenticeships.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Katie Hutton, SDS director of national training programmes, said: “The Scottish Apprenticeship Awards are all about recognising the fantastic work of apprentices all over the country and the commitment of employers who are investing in their workforce.

“I would urge all apprentice employers, training providers and apprentices themselves to get involved.

“From multi-nationals to family firms, if you think you know an apprentice who has continued to exceed expectations then please let us know.”

There are 10 categories including awards for apprentices and for large and small businesses employing apprentices.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Two new categories have been added to the showcase event: Foundation Apprentice of the Year and Promoting Diversity Employer of the Year.

Foundation Apprenticeships allow pupils to complete elements of an apprenticeship while still at school.

The pupil named Foundation Apprentice of the Year will have exceeded the expectations of their employer and will have shown the most commitment in the workplace.

The Promoting Diversity Employer of the Year recognises commitment to equality and diversity in apprenticeships and proactive steps taken.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Katie said: “It’s great to be introducing two new awards this year to recognise Foundation Apprentices, and for employers who promote diversity in their apprenticeship programme.

“Foundation Apprenticeships are a fantastic introduction to work-based learning for young people across Scotland.

“While the efforts of employers to ensure equality of opportunity deserves to be recognised.”

Winners will be revealed at an awards ceremony on Thursday, November 3 at the National Museum of Scotland in Edinburgh.

Entries are open now, with full details on and a deadline of noon on Wednesday, August 17.

Related topics: