Oliver Glasner’s side beat Glasgow Rangers 5-4 on penalties at the Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan stadium in Seville

Rangers trio James Tavernier, Calvin Bassey and Ryan Kent named in Europa League team of the year

A 3-4-2-1 formation has been selected with four players featuring from champions Eintracht Frankfurt

Three Rangers players have been rewarded for their impressive Europa League form after being named in the competition’s team of the season.

Giovanni van Bronckhorst’s side suffered an agonising 5-4 penalty shoot-out defeat against German side Eintracht Frankfurt in Seville on Wednesday night.

However, the Light Blues embarked on a fairytale run to the final as the defeated heavyweights Borussia Dortmund, RB Leipzig and Braga.

Around 100,000 Rangers fans descended on the South of Spain earlier this week ahead of the Ibrox club’s first European final in 14 years.

A trio of Gers players have been included in the team of the year, while champions Frankfurt are represented with four stars.

GlasgowWorld looks at who made the Europa League Team of the Year starting XI, selected by UEFA’s Technical Observer panel:

Undefined: gallery
Page 1 of 3