Team Scotland Commonwealth Games 2022: Full rundown of all of the athletes from Glasgow who will be competing

Team Scotland will take to the stage at the Commonwealth Games this week.

Thousands of the world’s best athletes will descend on Birmingham City this week for the 2022 Commonwealth Games.

The event is set to put on some of the best sporting shows we will see this year.

Team Scotland has pulled together a stellar team of athletes from all across the country.

Robyn Love, Jude Hamer, Jessica Whyte, and Lynsey Speirs will represent Scotland in the first ever appearance of wheelchair basketball at the Games. Picture,

So, which Team Scotland athletes are from Glasgow?

Here’s everything you need to know about the upcoming competition.

When are the Commonwealth Games?

The Commonwealth Games opening ceremony will begin in Birmingham on Thursday 28 July 2022.

The games will run until the closing ceremony which is scheduled for 8 August 2022, in which all 72 participating countries will return to the Alexander Stadium.

The Commonwealth Games Federation flag will be handed over to representatives of Victoria, the hosts of the 2026 Commonwealth Games.

Where are the Commonwealth Games held?

The event will take place in Birmingham for 2022, the sporting competitions are scheduled to take place at the following locations across the city:

  • Alexander Stadium, Birmingham
  • Birmingham Arena
  • Cannock Chase Forest
  • Coventry Stadium and Arena (Ricoh Arena)
  • Edgbaston Cricket Ground
  • Lee Valley VeloPark
  • The National Exhibition Centre (NEC)
  • Sandwell Aquatics Centre 
  • Smithfield
  • Sutton Park
  • University of Birmingham Hockey and Squash Centre
  • Victoria Park
  • Victoria Square
  • Warwick
  • West Park

Which Glasgow athletes are representing Team Scotland?

Lynsey Speirs is set to wear the Team Scotland jersey at the Commonwealth Games as 3X3 wheelchair basketball features for the first time in the competition.

Speirs, who is originally from Glasgow, and plays for Loughborough Lightning, knew that the format would create opportunities for her to perform in Birmingham, motivating her to work hard in all conditions during the build-up.

"We knew it was on the cards and we knew that 3X3 was going to be the format,” Lynsey explained.

“It was going to be the first time ever that there was a senior Scotland squad and I was doing everything I could to prepare – playing basketball in the rain when there were no halls over the COVID period.

“To finally get the selection and to be able to wear a Scotland branded kit – it’s mine, I’ve earned it – is just so important to me. I’m really, really, proud and honoured. I wouldn’t give up the chance to play in Birmingham for anything."

Speirs, who is also studying for a PhD at the University (Sport, Exercise and Health Sciences), is looking forward to friends and family offering their support.

"I can’t wait to go and showcase our fantastic sport at a games where my family can also travel to Birmingham,” she added.

“Although it’s technically not a home games for Scotland...they’ll be able to come down and support as if it was truly a home games for us."

What are the Commonwealth Games?

The Commonwealth Games are often referred to as the Friendly Games.

The competition is an international multi-sport event involving athletes from the Commonwealth of Nations.

The event was first held in 1930 and with the exception of 1942, and 1946, the event has taken place every four years since.

Six teams have competed at every Commonwealth Games since the inaugural tournament of 1930 which took place in Hamilton, New Zealand.

The six teams that competed in the first games were Australia, Canada, England, New Zealand, Scotland and Wales.

The last country to enter the modern Commonwealth was Rwanda, who joined in 2009.

A spokesperson for the group said: The Commonwealth is home to 2.5 billion people, and includes both advanced economies and developing countries.

“32 of our members are small states, including many island nations.

“Our member governments have agreed to shared goals like development, democracy and peace.

“Our values and principles are expressed in the Commonwealth Charter.

The Commonwealth’s roots go back to the British Empire. But today any country can join the modern Commonwealth.”

Which countries participate in the Commonwealth Games?

In total 72 teams will take part in the 2022 Games. The total number consists of 54 countries and 18 territories.

Here is the full list of every team taking part in the 2022 Commonwealth Games is listed below:

  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Bangladesh 
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • Botswana
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Brunei
  • Cameroon
  • Canada
  • Cayman Islands
  • Cook Islands
  • Cyprus
  • Dominica
  • England
  • Eswatini
  • Falkland Islands
  • Fiji
  • Ghana
  • Gibraltar
  • Grenada
  • Guernsey
  • Guyana
  • India
  • Isle of Man
  • Jamaica
  • Jersey
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi