Tom Scott Memorial Road Race

The annual 10-mile Tom Scott Road Race – a tribute to the top Law runner who died in 1961 – featured a thrilling battle for the line in the Gents Race after the leading three runners broke away from the rest of the 300-strong field.

Robbie Simpson of Deeside Runners eventually came home first at Strathclyde Park in 50mins 25secs to land the Tom Scott trophy, a £120 cheque and the Scottish 10-Mile Championship title.

“We had a great day and were blessed with fine weather for the fifth year in a row,” said race organiser Bob Benyon.

“The standard of running was really good, especially when you consider that there were no Eritreans – who have dominated the event in recent years – competing this time.

“Simpson increased the pace after eight miles and got away from his two main rivals.”

Simpson finished seven seconds ahead of second-placed gent John Newsom of Central AC, who won a trophy and £80 cheque. Third place and £60 went to Dermot Cummins of Corstorphine AAC who got round in 50mins 52secs.

The 10-mile Ladies race was won by Falkirk Victoria’s Fiona Matheson in 58mins 08secs, which saw her land the Granville Trophy, £80 and the Scottish Female 10-Mile Road Race title. Second was Joasia Zakrzewski of Dumfries Running Club in 58mins 20secs and third was Jennifer Emsley of Central AC in 58mins 26secs.

The Turnbull Rose Bowl 50+ trophy went to Kerry Liam of Cambuslang, who successfully defended this title and finished an impressive fourth overall. First ladies veteran home was Gillian Gordon of Kinross Running Club in 63mins 04secs.

Bob was delighted that a record entry of around 80 contested the day’s second event, the 6km Round the Loch race.

Law and District AAC’s Andrew Lawler won the Robin Barbour Trophy in 19mins 44secs, 21 seconds faster than his time when finishing third in this event in 2012.

“It was an excellent run by Andrew,” Bob added.

“Getting a record entry was fantastic. We were helped by the fact that a good number of Carluke Jogscotland members took part.”

The 6km ladies race was won by Fife AC’s Halina Rees in 21mins 53secs, with Law and District AAC’s Hilary McGrath 50 seconds behind in second.

Other winners were: 10-mile race – 50+ Veteran, James Gallagher (Kirkintilloch Olympians) 59mins 54secs; 60+ Veteran, Frank Hurley (Ronhill Cambuslang) 60mins 02secs; 70+ Veteran, Peter Cartwright (Clydesdale Harriers) 70mins; Men’s Team, Falkirk Victoria; Ladies Team, Garscube Harriers. 6km race – U20 Gents, Stuart McLuckie (Law and District) 21mins 48secs; U20 Ladies, Margaret Newall (Law and District) 38mins 22secs; Men’s Team, Law and District; Ladies Team, Law and District.