Michael Beale joins three other Rangers managers in infamous club with unwanted record

Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now
Rangers sacked the former QPR gaffer following Saturday’s 3-1 defeat to Aberdeen at Ibrox.

Michael Beale lasted just 307 days as manager of Rangers, making him the third shortest serving permanent head coach in Ibrox history.

The former QPR gaffer was relieved of his duties on Sunday evening following Saturday’s 3-1 home defeat to Aberdeen. Steven Davis has been placed in interim charge and the club are now searching for a full time replacement.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Beale’s brief tenure as Gers’ boss might not go down as the most memorable but he does hold a decent win percentage record on paper, with 31 victories from 43 matches giving him a 72% win rate. That statistic actually makes him the second most successful permanent Rangers manager in history behind only Ally McCoist (72.5%) but clearly success is not judged on just wins alone if they do not lead to silverware.

On that front, Beale becomes only the forth ever permanent Rangers manager to have not won a single trophy during his time in charge at Ibrox. The first was the club’s fourth ever manager, David White, who was in charge for a little over two years between 1967 and 1969.

Paul le Guen became the second when his 240 day reign was brought to an end in 2007 and Pedro Caixinha the third ten years later in 2017. The Portuguese coach still holds the record for the shortened reign as permanent Rangers boss with just 227 days in charge.

Although Graeme Murty did have over 200 days in charge of Rangers during his two spells in the dugout between 2017 and 2018, both times he was listed as caretaker boss and therefore not considered a ‘permanent’ Rangers manager - otherwise he would also be included. It is also worth mentioning that the trophies won by Ally McCoist (Third Division and Second Division titles) and Mark Warburton (Championship and Challenge Cup) were not top level trophies, meaning there are a total of five Gers’ bosses who have not won at top division league title, Scottish Cup or Scottish League Cup.

Related topics:

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.