Lewis Capaldi: everything you need to know about the singer’s upcoming album ‘Broken By Desire To Be Heavenly Sent’

Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

This article contains affiliate links. We may earn a small commission on items purchased through this article, but that does not affect our editorial judgement.

Lewis Capaldi’s sophomore album comes out on Friday, May 19

Lewis Capaldi’s long-awaited second album ‘Broken By Desire To Be Heavenly Sent’ will be released on Friday, May 19. The singer, 26, from Glasgow, announced his new album in October last year after beginning writing the music during the Covid-19 pandemic.

The highly anticipated album comes three years after his debut chat-topper ‘Divinely Uninspired to a Hellish Extent.’ After the success of his first album, the creation of the sophomore album was not an easy process. Lewis even had to pause writing in order to prioritise his mental health. He explored the process of writing the album in his Netflix documentary ‘How I’m Feeling Now.’ 

Hide Ad
Hide Ad
Lewis is releasing new music this month for the first time in three years. Lewis is releasing new music this month for the first time in three years.
Lewis is releasing new music this month for the first time in three years. | Getty Images for dick clark prod

Lewis has released four singles from his album already: ‘Forget Me,’ ‘How I’m Feeling Now,’ ‘Pointless’ and ‘Wish You The Best.’ While on the US leg of his tour, Lewis performed ‘Wish You The Best’ at multiple venues before it was officially released, and it became his fifth UK number 1 single in April. The hit track has taken the internet by storm after the heartbreaking music video went viral, reaching over 12 million views since its release on April 14.

Lewis has revealed that the album will have 12 tracks in total, with the Apple Music version having two additional tracks: the orchestral version of ‘How I’m Feeling Now’ and an additional song listed on Apple Music as ‘Track 14.’

What is the tracklist for Lewis Capaldi’s Broken By Desire To Be Heavenly Sent’?

  1. Forget Me
  2. Wish You The Best
  3. Pointless
  4. Heavenly Kind Of State Of Mind
  5. Haven’t You Ever Been In Love Before?
  6. Love The Hell Out Of You
  7. Burning
  8. Any Kind Of Life
  9. The Pretender
  10. Leave Me Slowly
  11. How This Ends
  12. How I’m Feeling Now

Not much is known about whether Lewis will collaborate with any other artists on his album, although there have been speculations that he could feature close friends Ed Sheeran and Niall Horan. Ed Sheeran and JP Saxe have been credited with writing credits for ‘Pointless’ and ‘Wish You The Best’ respectively.

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.